Skip to main content

Pamlico County Schools

PCHS Football Players and Coach of the Year Recognized

Several football players who recently received athletic honors and the Football Coach of the Year were recognized, during the February 5th meeting of the Pamlico County Board of Education. The following football players were named to the 1st Team All-Conference: Caleb Barron, Savone Tutt, George Jones, Stephan Misa, Renato Gonzalez, and Javon Armstrong. Michael Fuller, Yasir Jones, Carlos Chavez, Quishaen Wright, Sincere Gibbs, and Donta’ Midgette were named to the 2nd Team All-Conference. Lamont Murray was named the Special Teams Player of the Year. Additionally, the following players were named to the Sun Journal 1st Team All-Area: Lamont Murray, Savone Tutt and Caleb Barron. We look forward to seeing returning players’ talent during the 2018 season and to another power-packed football season.
Additionally, Coach Torrey Nowell was recognized for having received the honor of Coastal Plains Conference Coach of the Year. Just recently, he was named the 2017 Sun Journal All–Area Football Coach of the Year! Coach Nowell has been head football coach since 2015 and, along with his assistant coaches, has led the PCHS football team to exciting seasons and post-seasons. During the 2017 football season, the team finished 9-5 overall, 4-2 in the conference and continued post-season play into the third round.
Pictured: (l-r): First row: Coach Torrey Nowell
Second row: Quishaen Wright, Stephan Misa, Sincere Gibbs, Lamont Murray and Caleb
Third row: Carlos Chavez, Renato Gonzalez, Javon Armstrong, Michael Fuller, George